Q1
How long does it take to set up a fund?
Although legal structuring can be completed in just 2 to 3 months, in our experience, most managers will take 6 months to launch. This is because some decisions require careful deliberation. Depending on the complexity of the fund strategy and parties involved, delays are often unavoidable. Service providers and other stake holders need to be kept in the loop which will take time. However, once key terms are established, the process can move quickly.
Q2
Do I need a prime broker?
Prime brokerage arrangements are common in the hedge fund industry and are particularly attractive to emerging managers who frequently do not have extensive capital or other resources. Prime brokers generally provide custody, back office support, and other services, while the manager concentrates on managing the fund’s portfolio. However, most prime brokers will require minimum fees generated through trade related commissions or financing.
Q3
Do I need a custodian?
A custodian is often appointed by a fund to act as guardian of its assets pursuant to the terms of the relevant custodian agreement. If appointed, a custodian will hold in custody all assets of the fund. It may also collect dividends and other payments due in respect of the fund's assets and make dividend and redemption payments. To this end, there can be some overlap between the role of a custodian and the role of an administrator. There is no requirement that a custodian be based in the Cayman Islands. Most Cayman Islands based administrators hold trust licenses pursuant to the Banks and Trust Companies Law (2009 Revision) (as amended) of the Cayman Islands as well.
Q4
What’s the difference between a fund administrator and the auditor?
Typically an administrator will be appointed to oversee the day-to-day operations of the hedge fund, and (depending on the terms of the contract between itself and the hedge fund), assist in the calculation of (or make the ultimate determination of) the net asset value ("NAV") of the hedge fund, to process subscriptions and redemptions, to act as registrar and transfer agent and usually undertake anti-money laundering ("AML") procedures on behalf of the hedge fund. The administrator will also usually coordinate the opening of a bank account for the fund to deal with subscriptions and redemptions.

In addition, a Cayman regulated or licensed fund will need to appoint Cayman based and CIMA approved auditors. A regulated mutual fund is obliged to file its financial statements audited by an approved auditor and fund annual return form within six months of its financial year end. Furthermore, the accounts of regulated funds are required to be audited by an approved Cayman Islands based audit firm (or be audited by another audit firm but be signed-off by an approved Cayman Islands based audit firm). The auditor has certain reporting obligations to CIMA under the Mutual Funds Law regarding the operations of a fund that it audits.
Q5
Do I need any registrations or licenses to operate a fund?
If the fund manager is located and operates from offshore which is the same jurisdiction as the hedge fund itself, it is not subject to the licensing or regulatory requirements of Hong Kong. The fund manager will have day to day investment discretion for the hedge fund. It may appoint an investment adviser to provide it with (non-discretionary) investment advice. However, if a firm carries on a business in the regulated activities in or from Hong Kong, or holds itself out as carrying on such a business, it is required to set up a presence in Hong Kong and be appropriately licensed by the Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”).
Q6
What is the preferred hedge fund structure for Hong Kong based manager?
The preferred hedge fund structure for Hong Kong based managers and advisors tend to be offshore limited liability company. The main factors determining this preference is investor familiarity, and that such a vehicle is relatively low risk to the hedge fund manager (ie. It has a separate legal entity distinct from the management functions, and is easy to operate with respect to day-to-day subscriptions and redemption of shares). Furthermore, offshore jurisdictions used such as Cayman Islands, British Virgin Islands, and Bermuda are tax neutral. Currently, Cayman Islands remains the favorite for hedge funds where BVI has traditionally been preferred for private equity funds.
Q7
What is the typical fee structure for a hedge fund?
Typically investors in a hedge fund will pay the manager a management fee and a performance fee. The management fee, paid either quarterly or monthly, will range from 1—2% of AUM. The performance fee is generally assessed annually (although some managers will assess the fee frequently as quarterly) and typically is 20% of the fund’s profits (subject to a “high water mark”). It also depends on the complexity of your fund. Despite a growing trend for fee compression in long-only and long-biased funds, there will always be a market for outperformers. Economics are also a point of negotiation with early investors and seeders, which can be addressed either through separate share classes or side letters.
Q8
Do I have a choice which professional providers I use?
Yes. OPIM has established relationships with the best professional service providers in the industry. However, if you’re setting up a standalone fund, you’re free to choose which provider you feel best suits the needs of your fund.

OPIM’s Sunrise SPC platform has already engaged a series of professional partners, brokers, and independent directors, so funds launched through this process enjoy the benefit of just plugging into the current arrangements with hedge fund industry leaders.

 

Terms of Use and Disclaimers

 

Important

 

OP Investment Management Limited (“OPIM”) is a regulated institution in Hong Kong by the Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”).

 

This website contains information about OPIM and may reference services and products offered by OPIM.

 

The information provided on the OPIM website is not intended for distribution to, or use by, any person or entity in any jurisdiction or country that would subject OPIM or its affiliates to any registration requirement within such jurisdiction or country.

 

You are responsible for observing all applicable laws and regulations of their relevant jurisdictions before proceeding to access the information contained herein.

 

By proceeding, you are representing that you have understood and accepted the restrictions set out in this section.

 

The website is prepared by OPIM and has not been reviewed by the SFC.

 

 

No Offer

 

Neither the information nor any opinions contained in this site constitutes a solicitation or offer by OPIM or any of its affiliates to buy or sell, whether as principal or agent, any securities, futures, options or other financial instruments or provide any related service or investment advice in any jurisdiction or country where such distribution or use would be contrary to local laws or regulations. The information contained in these pages is not intended as any investment advice. Persons accessing these pages should obtain appropriate professional advice when necessary.

 

 

No Warranty

 

Although the information on this site is obtained or compiled from sources believed to be reliable, OPIM cannot and does not warrant the accuracy, validity, timeliness or completeness of any such information.

 

OPIM expressly disclaims any warranties of merchantability or fitness of a particular purpose or duties of care. All information on this site is provided "as is", and is subject to change without prior notice.

 

 

Limitation of Liability

 

In no event will OPIM or its affiliates be liable or have any responsibility for damages of any kind, whether direct, indirect, special, consequential or incidental, resulting from access or use of, or inability to access or use, this site or any sites or pages linked to this site, including (without limitation) damages resulting from the act or omission of any third party, even if OPIM or its affiliates has been advised of the possibility thereof.

 

 

Use of Links

 

Should the viewer leave this site via a link contained herein, and view content that is not provided by OPIM, the viewer does so at its own risk. OPIM is not responsible for damages or losses caused by any delays, defects or omissions that may exist in the services, information or other content provided in such site, whether actual, alleged, consequential or punitive. OPIM makes no guarantees or representations as to, and shall have no liability for, any electronic content delivered by any third party or have any responsibility, including without limitation, the accuracy, subject matter, quality or timeliness of any electronic content.

 

 

Copyright and Trademarks

 

OPIM and other parties own the trademarks and logos displayed on this site. These may not be used without the written permission of OPIM or the party owning these. Also, the information on this site are protected by copyright and no part of it may be copied, transmitted, disseminated, sold, distributed, published, broadcasted, circulated, stored for subsequent use or commercially exploited in any manner without the prior written consent of OPIM.

 

 

Internet Security

 

OPIM does not represent or warrant that no viruses or other contaminating or destructive properties will be transmitted or that no damage will occur to your computer system. You hereby acknowledge and confirm that the internet is not a secure medium where privacy can be ensured, and that complete security and confidentiality over the internet is not possible at this time.

 

You have sole responsibility for adequate protection and back up of data and/or equipment and for undertaking reasonable and appropriate precautions to scan for computer viruses or other destructive properties.

 

OPIM shall not be responsible or liable for any harm that you may suffer in connection with any such breach of confidentiality or security.

 

OPIM also makes no representations or warranties regarding the accuracy, functionality or performance of any third party software that may be used in connection with this site.

  

 

Amendment

 

The information contained on this site is subject to modification and update from time to time without notice.

 

 

Additional Terms

 

Certain sections or pages on this site may contain separate terms and conditions which are in addition to these terms and conditions. In the event of a conflict, the additional terms and conditions will govern for those sections or pages.

 

 

Governing Law

 

Use of this site shall be governed by the laws of Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

 

DECLINE ACCEPT

Q1
設立一支基金需要花費多長時間?
根據我們的經驗,儘管全部法律登記工作需要2-3個月時間,基金經理大多花費了6個月的時間設立基金,主要是因為基金策略和相關方面的複雜性,有些決定需要慎重考慮,延誤有時是不可避免的。投資者、券商、託管人、董事、基金管理人、監管機構和其他利益相關者之間的溝通協調也同樣需要時間。但是,一旦關鍵環節完成後,整個流程可以快速順利推進。
Q2
我需要主經紀商嗎?
在對沖基金行業,主經紀商很常見。主經紀商對資金和資源有限的新興基金經理而言很有吸引力。主經紀商一般提供託管、後台運營支持和其他服務,這樣基金經理可以專注于管理基金投資組合。但是,大多數主經紀商需要收取因交易佣金或融資產生的最低收費。
Q3
我需要託管人嗎?
託管人通常由基金委任并根據相關託管協議作為其資產的監管人。託管人一旦被任命,它將負責保管基金全部資產。它還可以收取與基金有關的股息和其他到期款項,支付股息及贖回款項。在這方面,託管人和行政管理人的角色可能會有重疊部分。託管人并不一定要設立在開曼群島,而大部分設在開曼群島的行政管理人依照開曼群島銀行和信託公司法(2009年修訂)(修訂版)持有信托牌照。
Q4
基金行政管理人和審計的區別是什麼?
通常情況下,行政管理人負責對沖基金的日常運營,(根據行政管理人與對沖基金之間的合同條款)協助計算(或最終決定)對沖基金的資產淨值(「NAV」),處理認購及贖回事宜,代理過戶登記,代表對沖基金完成反洗錢(「AML」)程序。行政管理人通常還會協助需要處理申購和贖回的基金在銀行開戶。

除此之外,開曼監管下的或合規的基金還需要委任設在開曼並獲得CIMA批准的審計。受監管的共同基金有義務在財務年結束六個月內提交由合格審計師審計的財務報告和年度收益表。另外,受監管基金的賬戶需要被設立在開曼群島的合格審計公司審核(或由其他審計公司審核,但需要設立在開曼群島的合格審計公司簽字)。審計人員根據互惠基金法有向CIMA報告其審計基金特定運營情況的義務。
Q5
運營基金時我需要登記註冊或牌照嗎?
如果基金經理管理和運作基金的司法管轄區與對沖基金相同,這種情況並不受香港法規管制。基金經理可以自由決定基金日常投資。他也可以委任投資顧問提供(非全權委託)投資建議。但是,如果公司在或從香港開展受規管業務,或對外宣傳從事這類業務,就需要在香港建立一間公司并獲得香港證監會(SFC)許可。
Q6
在香港的基金經理首選的對沖基金結構是什麼?
在香港的基金經理/顧問首選的對沖基金結構往往是離岸有限責任公司。有這類偏好的主要原因是投資者的熟悉度較高以及基金經理的風險度較低,而這樣的形式對沖基金經理而言風險也較低(比如:它具有獨立法人地位,與管理職能區別開,並且方便日常申購贖回操作)。此外,開曼群島,英屬維爾京群島、百慕大群島等離岸司法管轄區都是稅收中性的。目前,開曼群島是對沖基金的首選,英屬維爾京群島則是私募股權基金的最愛。
Q7
對沖基金的典型費用架構是怎樣的?
通常,對沖基金的投資者需要支付基金經理管理費和表現費。管理費的範圍一般為資產管理規模的1-2%,季度或月度支付。表現費通常按年度進行評估(雖然有些基金經理會按季度評估),一般為基金利潤的20%(受制于「高位線」)。這些也取決於基金的複雜程度。儘管多頭和偏持基金的費用壓力有增加的趨勢,但優秀者總會有市場。費用情況也是與早期投資者協商的重要問題之一,可以通過基金股份類別和附加協議解決。
Q8
我可以選擇使用哪些服務提供商嗎?
可以。東英資管已經和業內最優秀的專業服務提供商建立合作關係。如果您要建立獨立基金,您可以自由選擇最適合自己基金需求的服務提供商。

東英資管希瑞SPC平台已經和一系列的專業夥伴,券商和獨立董事建立了合作,所以基金發行過程中只要享受和這些對沖基金行業領導者的無間合作即可。

 

免責聲明

 

重要資料

 

東英投資管理有限公司(下稱「東英資管」)是在香港受證券及期貨事務監察委員會(下稱「證監會」) 規管的機構。 

 

本網站提供有關東英資管及其服務與產品的資料。

 

本網站所載的資訊如在若干司法管轄區內是需要註冊後才可發表,東英資管並沒有意圖在該等司法管轄內發表本檔。

 

您在瀏覽本網站所載資訊前,有責任遵守其所屬司法管轄區內所有適用的法例及規定。如您繼續瀏覽本網站所載的任何資訊,即表示已閱讀下列資料、明白下述的條款及細則並受其約束。

 

本網站由東英資管提供,未經證監會審閱。 

 

 

有關不構成發售的免責聲明

 

本網址所載的資料及任何意見﹐並不代表東英資管以主理人或代理人身分邀請或提請任何人士購買或沽售任何證券、期貨、期權或其他金融工具﹐或提供任何投資意見或服務。

 

 

有關保證的免責聲明

 

本網址所載之資料﹐均來自東英資管認為可靠的來源﹐或以此等來源為依據。但東英資管不能﹐亦不會就任何資料或資料的準確性、有效性、及時性或完整性作出任何保證。東英資管明確地拒絕承認任何商業保護﹐或某特定目的之適當性或承擔任何責任。本網址上的資料﹐僅按當時情況而提供﹐其所包含或表達的一切資料或意見﹐如有任何變更﹐恕不預先通知。

 

 

有關責任限制的免責聲明

 

若因本網址出現任何失效或中斷情況﹐或任何其他人士的行為或疏忽﹐導致閣下不能連接或使用本網址或所載資料而蒙受任何直接、間接、特殊、相應或連帶的損失﹐此等損失包括(但不限於)由任何第三者的行為或疏忽所導致﹐東英資管及其任何成員一概不會承擔任何責任﹐即使東英資管或其任何成員事先獲悉有招致此等損失的可能。

 

 

有關使用連接的免責聲明

 

若流覽者通過本網址的連結功能離開本網址﹐並流覽並非由東英資管提供的內容﹐有關風險由流覽者自行承擔。若因該等網址所提供的服務、資料或其他內容有任何延誤、缺失或遺漏而引致的虧損或損失﹐不論是實際或是聲稱的虧損或損失﹐亦不論是相應性或因受罰引致的虧損或損失﹐東英資管概不承擔任何責任。東英資管對任何第三者傳送的任何電子內容﹐包括但不限於任何電子內容的準確性、主旨、品質或及時性﹐概不作出任何保證或聲明﹐亦不承擔任何責任。

 

 

有關版權的免責聲明

 

本網址所提供的任何資料﹐若沒有得到東英資管的預先書面同意﹐均不可以透過任何方式或形式複製、傳送、傳播、出售、分發、出版、廣播、傳閱、貯存作其後使用或作任何商業用途。

 

 

網絡安全

 

東英資管不聲明或保證沒有病毒或其他感染性或破壞性項目將被發送、受損害您的電腦。

 

您承認並確認互聯網是一個不是私隱可以確保安全的媒介,以及在互聯網上,徹底的安全性和私隐性是不可能的。

 

您應有足夠的保護和備份數據和/或設備,並採取合理而適當的預防措施以掃描電腦病毒或其他破壞性的全部責任。

 

東英資管概不負責或承擔,你可與任何此類違反保密或安全性的連接受到的任何傷害。東英資管也對任何第三方軟件的準確性,功能或性能不作任何陳述或保證。

 

 

修訂

 

在本網站所載資料如有不時修改和更新、恕不另行通知。

 

 

附加條款 

 

本網站某些部分或頁面可能包含單獨的條款和條件。

 

 

法治

 

本網站的使用,由香港特別行政區法律管轄。

 

拒絕 接受